Today was Rome! We docked in Civitavecchia on the coast and
headed in to Rome by train. Because it is Sunday, the train schedule was
limited. We weren’t in the world’s biggest hurry, so we ended up on the 9:35
train which made several stops (at least that’s what I have been told, I was
sleeping for most of the trip)and finally we got to Rome around 11:00. We
switched from the train to the subway and went straight to the Colosseo
(Italian for Colisseum). Newsflash, when in Rome, everyone wants to go to the
Colosseo, so there was a bit of a line (three hour wait). We took our chances
with a shady fellow who promised us a tour and a quick entry. It turns out he
was legit and we joined a tour group and headed in-no wait! Mike and the kids had the
Colosseo at the top of their list. I was content to just see it from outside,
but I changed my tune once I got in. It really is very impressive. I am happy
we dropped the several Euros that we did to get in there.
When we left the Colisseum it was about 1:00 and we had to
be back to the train around 3:45ish to catch the 4:10 back to the ship. Now if
it were any day but Sunday we would have been able to take a later train, but
the next train would have put us back to the ship around 6:30, which was too
late. Anyway, it was 1:00 and we had so much more to see. We knew going into
this trip that we would just be getting a taste of each city as we are in port
for such a short time. However, it was still disappointing to realize that we
would only have a few hours in the great city of Rome. We chose just two other
things we really wanted to see (Fountain Trevi and Spanish Steps) and then took
to the streets. We meandered our way through the city getting glimpses of
amazing buildings, old and new as we headed to the Fountain. We spent only a
few minutes admiring the fountain and then we were off to Harry’s café which was
recommended by Daniella our tour guide in the Colosseum. Harry’s Café sits
above an entire ancient neighborhood excavated only 14 or 15 years ago. Harry’s
was closed, but you could get into that ancient town through a movie theater
that sits above it as well. We were happy to go in for two reasons: one we all
love ancient history and two it was far underground and much cooler than the 90
degree streets of Rome.
Our bellies were pretty empty about now, we of course had a
gelato earlier in the afternoon, but gelatos do not a meal make (or do they?).
We found a pizza place that wrapped their slices in a nice little paper pocket
so you can eat and run (perhaps literally). This pizza loving girl thinks this
to-go pocket might be the next best thing. Please America, let’s do this! Pizza
pockets to eat on the run-yes please! Sorry, where was I? Oh right, Rome, vacation, trip of a lifetime back to it...
Here’s the mental
picture for you, four Allens scrambling through the streets of Rome, sweating,
eating pizza, snapping pictures, glancing at a map and occasionally stopping to
drink from one of the many fountains of fresh water found all over the city.
Side note: I think this freaked our dinner companions out when we traded notes
with them over our evening meal. The thought of drinking foreign water was a
bit much for them, even though the water of Rome comes from the mountains
through the aqueducts and is guaranteed fresh and clean. Side note two: I bet
my mother is reading this and freaking out a little bit as well. But when in
Rome…
We got to the Spanish Steps, took a nice walk up and down
them and then the kids and Mike soaked their heads to cool off in the fountain below. We also refilled our water bottles there, sorry mom. I chose not to soak my hair, mainly because I was having a rare good hair day and didn't want to mess with it. Soon enough we were back in the Metro station
headed for the train. There are so many places I wish we saw, like St. Peter’s
Basilica and the Roman forum. I heard the Pope came out to St. Peter’s square
around noon and was blessing people. I wish we could have been there for that.
Still, what a wonderful day, in a wonderful city. I have heard some people say
they don’t like Rome, and I feel sorry for them. It’s too bad they didn’t see
it through our eyes.
Of course, the fun didn’t end there; we had a nice long
train ride back to the coast. Of all the things we could have included in this
blog today, Maddee and Max both wanted to make sure I mentioned boarding the
train back. First of all, Mike and I thought we were so city savvy at Roma
Termini, the Roman equivalent of Grand Central Station. Apparently, we didn’t look
as cosmopolitan as we felt, because a kind Italian woman approached us and
asked if we needed help. Good thing she did, too, because our train was already
at the station, but was at track 28, we were standing by track nine! We hustled
over to 28 and boarded. We went through car after car after car with absolutely
no place to sit. We finally found two seats, Mike and Madison took them and Max
and I continued on. We happened upon a car toward the front of the train that
was not only almost empty but was also ten degrees cooler than any we had been
through. Jackpot! Mike and Maddee joined us and back to Civitavecchia we went.
As soon as we boarded the train an all out rain/hail storm hit Rome. We watched
the storm from the comforts of our train.
Tomorrow we hike Mt. Vesuvius and then go to Pompeii. It’s
supposed to be about 90 degrees again and no shade. Still, I have a feeling it
will be worth it! Arrivederci.
No comments:
Post a Comment